When they’re not using their athletic powers on the field, NFL players are finding ways to serve as superheroes for their communities.

In recognition, each week during the regular season, the NFLPA #CommunityMVP program honors one player who has made a positive impact in his hometown or team city.

For being named Community MVP, the NFLPA will make a $10,000 donation to the player’s foundation or charity of choice so that they can continue to make a difference.



Week 3

Justin Hardee

New York Jets

Justin Hardee hosted his second back-to-school event of the summer, this time donating $5,000 worth of backpacks filled with classroom essentials to 150 at-risk youth in New Jersey.

Learn More

Week 2

Bijan Robinson

Atlanta Falcons

Atlanta rookie Bijan Robinson is already making an impact off the field by donating $25,000 to the Austin Junior Jags football program, hosting a season kickoff pizza party and surprising them at one of their games.

Learn More

Week 1

Alexander Mattison

Minnesota Vikings

Alexander Mattison kicked off his season-long Rush 2 Give tour by distributing new backpacks, supplies, books and shoes along with free haircuts for 250 kids in Minnesota.

Learn More

The weekly Community MVP winners will also become eligible for the NFLPA Alan Page Community (APC) Award, which is the highest honor that the NFLPA can bestow upon a player.​

Past Winners

2023 - Damar Hamlin, Buffalo Bills

2022- Rodney McLeod, Philadelphia Eagles

2021- Hayden Hurst, Atlanta Falcons

2020 - Brandon Copeland, New York Jets

2019 - Andrew Whitworth, Los Angeles Rams

2018 - Chris Long, Philadelphia Eagles

2017 - Malcolm Jenkins, Philadelphia Eagles

2016 - Thomas Davis, Carolina Panthers

2015 - Chad Greenway, Minnesota Vikings

2014 - Anquan Boldin, San Francisco 49ers

2013 - Charlie Batch, Pittsburgh Steelers

2012 – Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints

2011 – Tony Richardson, New York Jets

2010 – Nnamdi Asomugha, Oakland Raiders

2009 – Brian Dawkins, Philadelphia Eagles

2008 – Warrick Dunn, Atlanta Falcons

2007 – John Lynch, Denver Broncos

2006 – Steve McNair, Tennessee Titans

2005 – Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts

Full List Of Winners

Alan Page Community Award

Half Pro Football Hall of Famer, half Minnesota Supreme Court associate justice, Alan Page has always used his powers for good.

Possessing an endurance that was out of this world, the All-Pro defensive lineman played in 218 consecutive games for the Minnesota Vikings and became the first player to win the Defensive Player of the Year and Most Valuable Player awards in the same season.

Along the way, he was never afraid to fight for justice as an NFLPA player rep and member of the union’s Executive Committee.

Gridiron great by day and legal scholar by night, Page earned his law degree from the University of Minnesota while still playing in the NFL. After hanging up his cleats in 1981, he soared up the legal ladder and became the first African-American elected to the Minnesota Supreme Court, where he served until 2015.

Although he’s retired from football and the bench, Page is still fighting the good fight. Through The Page Education Foundation, which was founded by him and his late wife Diane, minority students are provided with financial and mentoring assistance in exchange for the students’ commitment to engage in community volunteer work.


The Robin to our Batman. The Timon to our Pumbaa.

The NFLPA Community MVP program would not be what it is without our sidekicks. These are our presenting partners:

Rules & Conditions

Each week during the regular season, the NFLPA will recognize one active NFL player who has demonstrated a commitment to making a positive impact in his community.

For being named Community MVP, each weekly honoree:

  • Receives a $10,000 donation from the NFLPA toward the player's foundation or charity of choice;
  • Agrees to make a virtual or in-person visit to a school or children's hospital as a way of broadening their charitable impact;
  • Becomes eligible for the annual Alan Page Community Award, which is the highest honor that the NFLPA can bestow upon a player.

Community MVPs will be selected by a committee of NFLPA staff. Community MVPs will be announced on Friday of each week in order to gain maximum promotional exposure. Each week’s runners-up will be recognized by name with a photo and description of their charity work on the following Tuesday in a social media post. Once a player has been named Community MVP, he is not eligible to win again during the same season. Players will vary by position and by NFL teams.

Players must meet the following criteria to be considered for Community MVP:

  • Charitable/community initiative is organized and led by an individual player and/or his foundation (not an NFL team or sponsor-led initiative).
  • Player should be active with a specific cause or through his foundation.
  • The community/charitable initiative should have taken place within the one-week period (Wednesday of the preceding week to Tuesday of the current week) before the Community MVP is announced.
  • Player should have participated in recent community work or held other recent events.

From the pool of weekly Community MVPs, a distinguished panel of judges will choose five finalists for the Alan Page Community Award, each of whom will receive an additional $10,000. From those five finalists, the active player membership will vote for the APC Award winner, who will receive $100,000 for his foundation or charity of choice.

Get Involved